Sean Price & M-Phazes – Land of the Crooks [EP Stream]

Sean Price, M-Phazes - Land of the Crooks EP

Brownsville boom-bap behemoth meets Aussie’s anthem architect as Sean Price and M-Phazes team up for their 11-track collaborative EP “Land of the Crooks,” filled with the type of humorous banter, hard-hitting punchlines and gritty boom-bap styled production that these two have long been delivering individually.

As you know, I don’t like to do the “review” thing, but you probably are already familiar with one or the other side of this sonic combination anyway. For the uninitiated, expect street-tinged, cleverly outlandish braggadocio from Sean Price, and thumping, mid-tempo beats reminiscent of Golden Era goodness with updated flair from M-Phazes.

I will say this much. “Murdah Type Thinkin” goes. Fucking. HARD!

sean-price-m-phazes-land-of-the-crooks-coverM-Phazes does work with plenty of NY-area artists, such as the Brown Bag AllStar crew, Talib Kweli and Pharoahe Monch. He has also held down DJ duties for Eminem and Lil’ Wayne on their Australian tour.

Sean Price released his last full-length project Mic Tyson in 2012, under the heralded Duck Down Music label.

Land Of The Crooks contains features by M.O.P.’s Billy Danze, Maffew Ragazino, DJ Babu, Guilty Simpson and Roc Marciano. There are five tracks, instrumentals for each and a bonus cut. Land of the Crooks can be purchased through iTunes or Fat Beats. Producers can also purchase the drum kit used by M-Phazes on the EP.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff6600&auto_play=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]